Tohono O'odham Recreation

PO Box 2375, Sells, Arizona 85634

### **Itty Bitty Division**

All players must be 4-6 years of age to participate. If eligibility questions should arise, documentation of age must be presented (i.e. birth certificate, tribal enrollment, or baptismal certificate) prior to the game.

- 1. The size of the playing area is half court. The height of the basket will be approximately eight feet.
- 2. The size of the basketball is 27.5 inch or junior size.
- 3. No forfeits, the game will be played four on four or three on three depending on the team size. Each team will have a maximum of 10 players on their roster.
- 4. Each child must play in both halves of the game.
- 5. The game will consist of two, eight-minute halves with a running clock except for timeouts. There will be two 30 second time outs per team per half. Half time will last two minutes.
- 6. Player substitution may only occur during a dead ball.
- 7. One coach from each team must be on the court during play to instruct players and make calls (Out of Bounds).
- 8. There will be no lane violations called or individual fouls counted.
- 9. Defense is man to man only, no zone or double teaming/stealing of the ball while controlled by offensive player is not allowed. No slapping or reaching in at the ball.
- 10. Possession will alternate each quarter, or double foul.
- 11. Players may not run with the ball; dribbling must be emphasized. Penalty will be called only after the 3<sup>rd</sup> double dribble.
- 12. After each basket, the opposing team will inbound the ball from the top of the key.
- 13. Any changes of possession require play to resume at the top of the key.
- 14. There is to be a free inbound pass from the top of the key to the free throw line. Defense must stay behind the free throw line for all inbound passes. The line up rule.
- 15. Coaches are responsible for their players' conduct throughout the league.
- 16. After the first game, no changes will be made to the official team roster.
- 17. Un sportsman like conduct will not be tolerated and will be dealt with at the discretion of coaches.
- 18. The recreation division shall be free from all liabilities, damages, or injuries during the league.
- 19. No team may establish offensive plays that create an intentional one on one situation.

Tohono O'odham Recreation PO Box 2375, Sells, Arizona 85634

520-383-1260

# **Pee Wee Division**

All players must be 7-9 years of age to participate. If eligibility questions should arise, documentation of age must be presented (i.e. birth certificate, tribal enrollment, or baptismal certificate) prior to the game.

- 1. The size of the playing area is full court on the half court. The height of the basket will be approximately eight feet.
- 2. The size of the basketball is 27.5 inch or junior size.
- 3. No forfeits, the game will be played five on five. Each team will have a maximum of 10 players on their roster.
- 4. Each child must play in both halves. No player will be allowed to play all four quarters unless the team has less than seven players for the game.
- 5. The game will consist of four, six-minute quarters with a running clock except for timeouts. There will be two 30 second time outs per team per half. Half time will last three minutes. With one minute between quarters.
- 6. Two coaches are allowed on the sideline during the game.
- 7. Players will foul out on their fifth foul.
- 8. A jump ball will start each game.
- 9. The offense must bring the ball across half court within the ten second time limit.
- 10. Clear outs are not allowed. No team may establish offensive plays that create an intentional one on one situation.
- 11. One on One bonus foul shot will be in effect on the 7<sup>th</sup> team foul, 2 bonus shots will be awarded on the 10<sup>th</sup> team foul.
- 12. Each team's bench must be seated and cheering positively for their team. Trash talking will result in a technical foul.
- 13. Un sportsman like conduct will result in a technical foul and player ejection. The opposing team will be awarded two points and possession of the ball. This includes players on the bench.
- 14. All players and coaches must complete a recreation division waiver/liability form to participate in the league.
- 15. Players will be allowed to play on only one team for the duration of the league.
- 16. Coaches are responsible for their players' conduct throughout the league.
- 17. If a team is not present at the start of the game, the remainder of the game time will be played when they arrive.
- 18. The recreation division shall be free from all liabilities, damages, or injuries during the league.

Tohono O'odham Recreation PO Box 2375, Sells, Arizona 85634

520-383-1260

# **Minor Division**

All players must be 10-12 years of age to participate. If eligibility questions should arise, documentation of age must be presented (i.e. birth certificate, tribal enrollment, or baptismal certificate) prior to the game.

- 1. The size of the playing area is full court. The game ball size is 28.5 inches.
- 2. If a team is not present within 15 minutes of game time, they will only play the remainder of the time. It will count as a technical foul.
- 3. Game play is 5 players per team unless there are not enough girls. Four players are needed to start the game, but no more than three boys on the court.
- 4. Each team will have a maximum of 10 players on their roster.
- 5. All players must play in both halves.
- 6. Open substitution is allowed on any stop in play. Players must be sitting at the score table and noticed by the referee before entering the game. No stalling when substituting.
- 7. The game will consist of four, eight-minute quarters with a running clock except for time outs and the last two minutes of the fourth quarter when the clock stops for every whistle. There will be two thirty second timeouts per team per half. Half time will last three minutes with one minute between quarters. There will be a 3-minute overtime if necessary.
- 8. Game Clock starts on time, even if the team doesn't show in time. The remainder of the time will be played once the team shows up.
- 9. Two coaches are allowed on the sideline during the game.
- 10. A jump ball will start each game.
- 11. There is a 3 second lane violation.
- 12. Players will foul out on their 5<sup>th</sup> foul.
- 13. Clear-outs are not allowed. The recreation division shall be free from all liabilities, damages, or injuries during the league.
- 14. No full court press until the last two minutes of the game unless a team is ahead by 20 points or more.
- 15. No hand checking.
- 16. One and One bonus foul shot will be in effect on the seventh team foul, 2 bonus shots will be awarded on the tenth team foul.
- 17. Un sportsman like conduct will result in a technical foul and player ejection. The opposing team will be awarded two points and possession of the ball. This includes players on the bench.
- 18. All protests or questions arising shall be made PRIOR to the game, not during or after the game. Referee's calls are not grounds for protest.
- 19. All players and coaches must complete a recreation division waiver/liability form to participate in the league.
- 20. Players will be allowed to play on only one team for the duration of the league.
- 21. Coaches are responsible for their players' conduct throughout the league.
- 22. After the first game, no changes will be made to the official team roster.
- 23. All coaches and players must take a Recreation Division Waiver/Liability form to participate in the league.
- 24. The recreation division shall be free from all liabilities, damages, or injuries during the league.

Tohono O'odham Recreation PO Box 2375, Sells, Arizona 85634

520-383-1260

## **Junior Division**

All players must be 13-15 years of age to participate. If eligibility questions should arise, documentation of age must be presented, i.e. birth certificate, tribal enrollment, or baptismal certificate, prior to the game.

- 1. The size of the playing area is full court. Game ball size is 29.5 inches.
- 2. The basket height is ten feet.
- 3. If a team is not present within 15 minutes of game time the game will only be for the rest of the time to keep games on schedule. Game may begin with four players but will be assessed a technical foul. There will be 2 girls on the team. If there is a girl unavailable, the team will play with no more than 3 boys.
- 4. There will be a 3-minute overtime if the game is tied at the end of regulation time.
- 5. Each team will have a maximum of ten players.
- 6. All players must play in both halves. No player will be allowed to play the entire game unless the team has only five players for the game.
- 7. Open substitution is allowed on any stop in play. Players must be sitting at the score table and noticed by the referee before entering the game. No stall when substituting.
- 8. The game will consist of two halves of 16 minutes with a running clock except for timeouts and the last two minutes of the game when the clock stops for every whistle. There will be two, thirty second timeouts per team per half. Half time will last three minutes. Two-minute overtime will be played if regulation time ends with the score tied.
- 9. Two coaches are allowed on the sideline during the game.
- 10. A jump ball will start each game.
- 11. There is a three second lane violation.
- 12. Players will foul out on their fifth foul.
- 13. Defense can be man to man or zone.
- 14. Double teaming is allowed.
- 15. Press defense is allowed.
- 16. Clear outs are not allowed. No team may establish offensive plays that create an intentional one on one situation.
- 17. Offense must bring the ball across the half court within the ten second time limit.
- 18. One and one bonus foul shot will be in effect on the seventh team foul. Two bonus shots will be awarded on the tenth team foul.
- 19. Each team's bench must be seated and cheer positively for their team. Trash talking will result in a technical foul.
- 20. Un sportsman like conduct will result in a technical foul and player ejection. The opposing team will be awarded two free throws and possession of the ball. This includes players on the bench.
- 21. Coaches are given the authority to bench a player that is acting un sportsman like or that has missed several practices without legitimate excuse. The referees, scorebook table and all coaches will be notified before the game starts.
- 22. All protests or questions arising shall be made PRIOR to the game, not during or after the game. Referee's calls are not grounds for protest.
- 23. All players and coaches must complete a recreation division waiver/liability form to participate in the league.
- 24. The recreation division shall be free from all liabilities, damages or injuries during the league.